Competitions

Find out what the Festival's competitions are all about and what crews need to achieve to reach the top of the leaderboard.

Coupe de compétition

The festival’s programme includes a number of competitions every year. Each pilot's skill, precision and knowledge of aviation are tested to the limits as they try to land on predefined targets, among other objectives. 

The goal is either to land or to drop a marker as close to a target as possible, sometimes they may even have to pick up items using a pole. These are difficult exercises which the pilot will tackle with the help of the crew. The pilots must calculate the time and speeds required and, above all, use the wind to their advantage. The crew on the ground will estimate wind strength to help them steer. The pilot must demonstrate knowledge and patience in judging whether it is better to take the descending wind in the morning or to wait as the wind changes direction during the day.

The friendship flight

Joined together by a symbolic ribbon bearing their national flags, four hot air balloons take off together and fly in formation for as long as possible. The other hot air balloons taking part then follow the group.

Sponsored targets

Permanent sponsored targets are also placed around the Château-d’Œx take-off site. The crews then have to throw markers (small cloth bags filled with sand) into the triangular targets.

The long distance race

During the first year of the festival in 1979, David Niven, the famous British actor of «Around the World in 80 Days», donated a trophy for the long-distance flight competition. The goal of the race is to cover the greatest distance possible without stopping! The Organizing Committee chooses a day (from Monday to Thursday) on which the competitors participating in the race will take off. The public can follow the race live using the beacons carried by the pilots. Pilots can also take part in the race in the Eco category, competing for the «Piccard-Jones Eco Trophy».

Precision target drops

Pilots taking part in this competition will require perseverance and dexterity. The precision target is placed on Temple Hill and the pilots have to throw a ring over it during the course of the festival.

Speed race

The crews take off either at the same time or in successive waves, depending on the number of participants. The pilots must then cross a fictitious line which is announced during the morning briefing, it’s distance from the take-off field will depend on the weather forecast. A maximum altitude above ground at the finish line may be specified beforehand. The width of the finish line is also specified. The pilot who crosses the line in the shortest time is declared the winner.

The Nello Charbonnier trophy

A new trophy was created this year to honour the memory of our friend Nello Charbonnier, a great friend of the Festival and a distinguished competitor. The winner will be the pilot who participates in the largest number of competitions during the Festival.

Les deux Gruyères

This competition involves flying from Château-d'Oex to the city of Gruyères, passing over the Sarine. The crews must fly over two different targets. The first is located in the courtyard of the Château de Gruyères. This is a precision target onto which the crews must throw a marker. The second target is a «marker drop» located in a field to the north-east of the Château. The crews must therefore try to reach the courtyard of the Château de Gruyères without losing sight of the second target.

Nos sponsors

Grisoni-Zaugg SA - Logo
Vitogaz - Logo
Loterie Romande - Logo
M&BD Consulting SA - Logo
Pays-d'Enhaut Région - Logo

Compétitions

Découvrez en quoi consistent les compétitions du festival et ce que les équipages doivent réaliser pour arriver sur la première place du classement.

Coupe de compétition

Chaque année, diverses compétitions figurent au programme du festival. L’habileté, la précision et les connaissances aérologiques de chaque pilote sont testées par exemple en essayant d’atteindre des cibles prédéfinies. 

Il s’agit soit d’atterrir, effectuer ce qu’on appelle une «nacelle posée», soit de lancer un marqueur le plus près de la cible, soit encore d’attraper quelques objets à l’aide de perches. Un exercice difficile auquel s’attelle le pilote avec l’aide de son équipage. Il doit calculer le temps, la vitesse et surtout jouer avec les vents. L’équipage resté au sol estime la force des vents et l’aide à se diriger. Le pilote doit faire preuve d’anticipation et de patience, à savoir s’il est préférable d’emprunter le vent descendant du matin ou s’il est mieux d’attendre que le vent tourne de quelques degrés au cours de la journée.

Le vol de l’amitié

Reliées par un ruban symbolique qui porte les drapeaux nationaux, les quatre montgolfières décollent ensemble et doivent garder leur formation le plus longtemps possible. Les autres montgolfières présentes suivront cet envol.

Les cibles sponsors

Des cibles permanentes de différents sponsors sont disposées aux alentours du terrain de décollage de Château-d’Œx. Le but des équipages est de lancer des marqueurs (des petits sacs en tissu rempli de sable) dans les cibles triangulaires.

La course longue distance

Lors de la première édition du festival en 1979, David Niven, le célèbre acteur britannique du «Tour du monde en 80 jours», dota d’un trophée la compétition du vol de longue distance. L’objectif est bien sûr de parcourir le plus de kilomètre possible, sans arrêt intermédiaire ! Le Comité d’organisation choisit un jour, de lundi à jeudi, en fonction des conditions météorologiques, pour l’envol de tous les concurrents participant à la course. Le public peut suivre la course en direct grâce à des balises que les pilotes emportent avec eux. Les pilotes ont également la possibilité de participer à la course en catégorie Eco, sous le nom de «Piccard-Jones Eco Trophy».

La cible haute précision

Persévérance et dextérité sont nécessaires aux pilotes voulant prendre part à cette compétition. La cible haute précision est située sur la colline du Temple et, au fil des jours, les pilotes doivent placer en vol un anneau sur la cible.

La course de rapidité

Les équipages décollent en même temps ou par vagues successives, en fonction du nombre de participants. Ensuite, les pilotes doivent franchir une ligne fictive qui est annoncée au briefing du matin et, selon les prévisions météorologiques, est placée plus ou moins loin du terrain de décollage. Pour le passage de la ligne uniquement, une hauteur «sol» maximum peut être définie au préalable. La largeur de la ligne d’arrivée est également précisée. Le pilote ayant franchi la ligne dans le temps le plus court est déclaré vainqueur

Le trophée Nello Charbonnier

Un nouveau trophée a été créer cette année en l’honneur et à la mémoire de notre ami Nello Charbonnier, grand ami du Festival et compétiteur émérite. Le gagnant sera le pilote qui aura le plus participé aux compétitions durant tout le Festival.

Les deux Gruyères

Cette compétition consiste à relier Château-d'Oex à la cité de Gruyères en survolant la Sarine. Les équipages doivent passer par deux cibles différentes. La première est placée dans la cour du Château de Gruyères. Il s'agit d'une cible de précision, les équipages devant lancer un marqueur dans la cible. La seconde cible est une «nacelle posée» située au nord-est du Château, dans un champ. Les équipages doivent ainsi chercher à atteindre la cour du Château de Gruyères sans perdre le cap de la deuxième cible.

Nos sponsors

BCV - Logo
Grisoni-Zaugg SA - Logo
Vitogaz - Logo
Loterie Romande - Logo
M&BD Consulting SA - Logo
Pays-d'Enhaut Région - Logo